Ramblings of a Bar Wench

That’s it, another year been and gone – and what a roller-coaster of a year it has been! If you had said to me at the start of the year I would have more days “off” than I would be in the bar I would have laughed!

The announcement of the first lockdown in March was unprecedented. I’ll never forget how rapidly the announcements came through; at the end of our busy Friday Happy Hour we were told we had to close from Monday. Two hours later we were closing at midnight. For two weeks. Or so we thought…

The three months of lockdown affected us all, on and off Lefkada. The saving grace here was that the sun shone brilliantly for us, keeping the anxiety of the unknown somewhat at bay. I, like many other islanders, took the rare opportunity to enjoy springtime without work (time off at the beginning of the season?! You must be joking!). The fantastic weather meant we were able to disappear into the mountains for hours on end; following forgotten goat tracks, foraging for wild herbs and asparagus and hiking as high as possible for the best breathtaking views across the Ionian. More often than not we would not see another soul all day – it doesn’t get more socially distanced than that!

As well as walking, I also spent lockdown conspiring with Bob and Anja from De Blanck to formulate a delicious bottled wine list, showcasing a selection of fantastic Greek wines at Yacht Club prices. My personal favourite is the Nautilus, a pale provincial style rosé perfect for summer days. Get the bottle, trust me, one glass will not be enough!

To complement our wine list, Eleni has created a variety of Meze Platters, meat, seafood or vegetarian, that are perfect for sharing with friends on a sunny afternoon, especially on Winedown Wednesday’s when a bottle of Genesis & a meze platter was only €15!

By June we were itching for the season to kick off, and though it was short, what a season it was!

As this summer felt far less hectic than previous years, I had more time to chat around the bar. It was lovely getting to know you all, those faces that have frequented the bar for years and the fresh new faces – welcome to our slice of paradise!

With fewer boats on the water, it was entirely possible to make the most of the afternoon winds without having to pre-book a spot in the usually heaving harbours. I took full advantage of this, mooring on the quay in Vathi, Kioni and Fiscardo always in the late afternoon, an often impossible feat, especially in summer. One of the advantages of this quieter summer is that I have been able to spend more time out on the water (I’m a qualified Day Skipper now!) and can even more confidently talk about my favourite spots in the Ionian. Having been locked up for another month (so far) I cannot wait to be back in the bar hearing all about your adventures over a cold beer.

After the success of the Quiz on Feet at the beginning of the year, which just happened to fall on International Women’s Day with the top two teams consisting solely of women, I would just like to say a personal thank you to everyone that came to play, despite the torrential rain at the end!  I hadn’t realised quite how much effort goes in to planning these events, but thoroughly enjoyed watching you all meander and ponder through the olive groves wondering  just how cryptic my mind works (apparently less so than Ruairi’s). I had planned for a Winter Walking Quiz to happen this side of Christmas. It is all wrapped and ready to go, just as soon as we are allowed out in groups again!

Quiz on Wheels was also greatly missed this spring, both by competitors and those who enjoy watching people perplex over answers (guilty). For me, the best part of QoW is going to parts of the island you may have driven through but never stopped at or maybe a new place entirely. With this in mind, I have an exciting route planned for when it is safe and acceptable to do so. If you are on the island without a car, befriend someone who does! Much like the Olympics, this is an event that does not want to be missed.

So as I’m sat here, still in lockdown, no lighter despite the walking, desperate to be back in a bar, I realise that this year hasn’t been all doom and gloom – in fact far from it.

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank every single one of you that supported us this year; from the locals that kept me sane when all I wanted was to go home and see my mum, the sailors who managed to make it out here and take advantage of the open waters and everyone in between. Whether you were here for a week, a month, all summer or all year, thank you!

This too shall pass and when it does we will be ready for you!

We hope you have a Very Merry Christmas and look forward to welcoming you all back in 2021!

2 thoughts on “Ramblings of a Bar Wench

Leave a comment